The Town of Indian Head

Indian Head Museum

museum 1museum 2

Located at 610 Otterloo Street, in the historic 1907 Indian Head Fire Hall, the museum is dedicated to the preservation and presentation of Indian Head's past. The museum houses exhibits on two floors in the main Fire Hall Building, in the Back Room (formerly a horse stable), the Museum Yard, the Military Building, the Country Garage, the Carpenter and Blacksmith shops. Two exhibits that shouldn't be missed are the Jubilee School and the Bell Barn Cottage.

The Bell Barn Cottage is the last remaining cottage built and used by the hired help on the Bell Farm in the 1800's. Originally there were 27 of these units. The cottage has been restored and furnished with period household items. The Jubilee School was built in 1926 and used as a school until 1955. It was donated to the Museum and restored on the museum grounds complete with desks, blackboards and school supplies.

The museum boasts an extensive collection of 5000 artifacts, photos and histories depicting the pioneer beginning of the district.

Open daily 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. during the months of July and August; appointments for other dates and times can be booked in advance. Tours are always welcome.

Appointments can be made by contacting:

Tim Keslering at 1 (306) 695-2584